RRISD schools earn 'No Place for Hate' designation

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]SummerBreakBanners-03A total of 28 Round Rock ISD schools have been recognized as No Place for Hate campuses for the 2016-2017 school year by the Anti-Defamation League, which certifies the schools to teach lessons such as empowerment against bullying and the virtue of tolerance.

To earn the designation, schools commit to creating a student-led coalition, signing the Resolution of Respect and hosting at least three anti-bias and diversity related activities throughout the year. As part of the Resolution of Respect, students pledge to do their best to combat prejudice, promote respect for people and make commitments to creating communities of harmony.

“Our students and staff in Round Rock ISD are committed to building a safe and healthy learning environment free of bullying,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Steve Flores said. “I am proud to celebrate our campuses who have worked diligently to model the No Place for Hate guidelines and support the learning of all students.”

The following schools have been designated as No Place for Hate campuses:

  • Berkman Elementary School,
  • Blackland Prairie Elementary School,
  • Brushy Creek Elementary School,
  • Cactus Ranch Elementary School,
  • Caldwell Heights Elementary School,
  • Caraway Elementary School,
  • Chandler Oaks Elementary School,
  • Jollyville Elementary School,
  • Herrington Elementary School,
  • Live Oak Elementary School,
  • Old Town Elementary School,
  • Robertson Elementary School,
  • Spicewood Elementary School,
  • Teravista Elementary School,
  • Union Hill Elementary School,
  • Voigt Elementary School,
  • Wells Branch Elementary School,
  • Canyon Vista Middle School,
  • C.D. Fulkes Middle School,
  • Cedar Valley Middle School,
  • Chisholm Trail Middle School,
  • Deerpark Middle School,
  • Grisham Middle School,
  • Hopewell Middle School,
  • Hernandez Middle School,
  • Walsh Middle School,
  • Round Rock Opportunity Center and
  • Westwood High School.