RRISD students succeed at state science, engineering fair

Round Rock ISD students from Canyon Vista and Cedar Valley middle schools and Westwood High School successfully competed at the Texas Science and Engineering Fair (TSEF), winning a total of 18 awards.

TSEF, operated by the University of Texas at San Antonio College of Sciences, is an annual state science competition for students in sixth through 12th grade. The fair provides an opportunity for discourse among like-minded, high-achieving middle and high school students across Texas, according to TSEF.

“I am continually impressed by the talent and knowledge in our District,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Steve Flores said. “I am proud to see these 12 students represent Round Rock ISD at the state level while showcasing the hard work and dedication it took to complete these outstanding projects.”

The winning students are listed below with their respective schools and awards:

  • Neil Choudhary, second place in biochemistry, Broadcom MASTERS, Canyon Vista,
  • Satvik Dasari and Laya Yalamanchili, second place in embedded systems, Broadcom MASTERS, Canyon Vista,
  • Anavi Nayak, third place in chemical energy, Canyon Vista,
  • Srivaishnavi Marreddy, fourth place in systems software, Canyon Vista,
  • Amirtha Jayakumaran, fourth place in cellular and molecular biology, Cedar Valley,
  • Anuja Uppuluri, Broadcom MASTERS, Texas Master Naturalist Conservation Award, Canyon Vista,
  • Satvik Dasari, Broadcom MASTERS, Canyon Vista,
  • Arjun Jain, first place in microbiology, Intel ISEF, Westwood
  • Prabhav Vanguri, second place in embedded systems, Westwood,
  • Sindura Sridhar, third place in molecular biology, Westwood and
  • Joel Abraham, fourth place in materials science, Westwood.